The provision of Non-Patent Literature (NPL) is a key service supporting Patent examination. The Library obtains copies of articles (and occasional book loans or copies of book chapters) from a range of libraries, commercial suppliers and full text databases. Libraries call this process Document Delivery or Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
RIS can also obtain documents to support policy and other functions of IP Australia - ILL is not limited to NPL.
RIS staff will advise you on the best course for obtaining the document you need and will obtain the document for you.
Materials obtained from external sources incur a charge, so we can only obtain items on ILL for work related purposes. Please do not ask for items to support personal study
SNIPER is the Library's full text database of intellectual property literature. It provides an ongoing knowledge that supports policy, research and awareness of intellectual property matters.
SNIPER provides information relating to patents, trade marks, designs and plant breeders rights, as well as copyright, circuit layouts, domain names, geographical indications, etc. Other topics that impact on intellectual property, such as traditional knowledge, biopiracy, etc., are also covered.
Content is mainly gathered from journals in IP Australia Library's collections, with further reference to other journals, conference papers, book chapters and electronic documents, as appropriate.
To search SNIPER, click the SNIPER search link at the top of the Discovery search page. The SNIPER database can also be searched via the Library’s SIRSI online catalogue. When searched via EDS or SIRSI, searches can be saved and alerts can be obtained when relevant items are added to the system.
Choose a search mode, enter your search terms and click the Search button to start your search.
Search Modes
"technology transfer"
Smartphones cause IP headaches
IP Australia periodically commissions independent studies and conducts public consultations on various matters relating to Australia's intellectual property system. Stakeholders and interested members of the public may make submissions to the public consultations. Unless otherwise specified, submissions are non-confidential, and are available for viewing by members of the public.
Presently the CentIPede is grouped into five sections that monitor general, high level content on the Intellectual Property sector. Widgets are set to update continuously and are filtered by keyword and date to ensure content is as relevant and up to date as possible. A brief description of content sources for each widget are outlined below: